Opening Times

Testimonials

“Love love love!!!”

Reviewed 31 January 2015
Visited this place today with my husband and 2 children, There wasn't much to see on the animal front as I guess it's a quiet time of year, but we were followed everywhere by the sweetest pair of guinea fowl which we named Dotty and Spotty, could have taken them home!!!
After our walk we decided to pop in for a cuppa and couldn't resist a scone too...
Well... The scones were to die for, gently warmed and served with jam and clotted cream, probably the best cream tea I've ever had... In fact had to ask for another scone as it was so delicious! We were served by Rosalind and Chris, what a lovely pair, so kind and attentive, an absolute credit to this business. Will absolutely be back asap. Thank you!


“Lovely place to take children”

Reviewed 8 November 2014
We stopped here as a place we thought would serve a nice Devonshire tea (or cream tea as its referred to here) and we weren't let down. It was very pleasant and good view out toward the farm. I did wonder if the jam would be blackberry but it was strawberry.

Our 1 year old son loved watching the chickens and ducks which was a nice treat. So lovely to visit a place in this area that doesn't charge an admittance fee. So many place we drove to only to turn around because of the price.

Would definitely visit again.


“Fantastic”

Reviewed 7 November 2014
We found this Farm while staying at Woodford Bridge Country Club, the food is fab, price's are very good as well. The people are lovely, we go out of our way to visit when working in the area, don't drive past you will be sorry .
Visited November 2014


“Great shop and cream tea.”

Reviewed 28 October 2014
This is a great place. Not only does it provide delicious, locally sourced food. It has a really great well stocked shop providing locally sourced food and crafts/ gifts. It has an added bonus of the mini farm where you can wander and pet the free range animals.
Visited August 2014


“Cream teas and farmshop”

Reviewed 14 October 2014
Always enjoy a cream tea at Lizzy's when we are staying locally – with lovely views across to Dartmoor – friendly welcome & service – can't resist popping in for tasty food for our picnics – and their farm animals to enjoy. Thoroughly recommend.
Visited October 201


“2nd visit to farm shop”

Reviewed 7 October 2014
Couldn't wait to stock up on supplies when staying in Woodford Bridge Country Club. Delicious coffee and cake to eat while filling my shopping basket. Will pay another visit for supplies to take home. Quality and quantity home cooked food and hand made gifts
Visited October 2014


“Great suprise find”

Reviewed 30 September 2014
Happened across Lizzy's Larder on Sunday morning looking for a small bite to eat. What a great find! The homemade/home grown food was delicious, there is a large variety of things on sale there too from fresh farm shop food to toys, cards and humorous gifts to suit every taste and age which helps to keep you interested while having your cream tea and solved the "what to take back for granny" problem too! Then there is a lovely variety of farm animals which you can get amongst, pet and take the odd selfy with! It was a lovely way to while away an hour or so and the hosts couldn't be more friendly.
Visited September 2014


“Thoroughly recommend”

Reviewed 7 September 2014
We visited Lizzy's Larder and they carried out a tour of the farm and introduced us to all the animals which was great. We then had a lovely lunch and couldn't resist the homemade cakes. The selection of food in the shop was amazing and very fresh. Definitely worth a visit if you are near.
Visited September 2014


“Peaceful location and good food”

Reviewed 7 September 2014
Nice farm location with animals to pet.
Nice outdoor seating with peaceful views across countryside and lovely cream teas
Visited September 2014


“De lizzy licious”

Reviewed 25 August 2014
Detoured the days outing to visit this place on strength of reviews: have to agree every star given is well deserved. A lovely farm shop, serving delicious food, with stunning views - and some lovely animals to see as well (the kune kune being favourite!). Stop to eat or shop for some tasty savouries, and support this lovely local enterprise


“Lovely Afternoon tea and animal petting”

Reviewed 22 August 2014
We had a lovely afternoon tea here. The scones were delicious and loads and clotted cream and jam.

Then onto meet the animals which my two girls loved. Would definitely recommend to anyone.


“Delicious pie”

Reviewed 11 August 2014
We have been staying nearby for the last week and after driving past a couple of times we made a point to stop today to pick up something for dinner.

The steak and ale pie was delicious and the small grocery section of the shop meant I didn't need to stop anywhere else to get supplies for dinner. Also bought bacon and sausage for tomorrow's breakfast and an apple and pear pie.

The selection of cakes looked delicious. Lovely little shop and very friendly service. I plan to call in again before we head back home next weekend.


“Very peaceful”

Reviewed 11 August 2014
We stopped as on holiday in near by village and we had a very warm welcome even our little dog was welcome superb service and lovely food we recommend a visit and all the farm animals are very well behaved and friendly


“Fantastic little family attraction and farm shop/tea rooms”

Reviewed 5 August 2014
We are staying nearby and saw a leaflet for Lizzy's Larder at Blackberry Farm. We went along and found a fantastic farm shop and tea rooms. We sat in the gardens with an amazing countryside view and enjoyed a traditional cream tea!

The best bit was yet to come, a miniature farm yard and petting area. We had a 'one-to-one' with Farmer Lizzy who gave us a guided tour and taught our two girls all about the animals. They held baby rabbits, one day old chicks and had a go at feeding the donkeys, sheep, and a five week old bull.

It was a brilliant experience, rustic, low key and off the cuff - but really effective.
Anyone should visit, with or without children.
We could not believe all this attention was free


“Very welcoming”

Reviewed 28 July 2014
We visited for lunch as we were too early for our holiday cottage. We received a very warm welcome which was just what we needed after 4 hours in the car. We were introduced to
all the animals which the children loved.
The farm shop was great and we plan to return to buy various things.
We all enjoyed a delicious lunch in a lovely setting. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful.
Visited July 2014


“Well worth the long drive!”

Reviewed 14 July 2014
We drove for just over an hour to visit this place as we had read the excellent reviews. It is in middle of nowhere and so beautiful. We were greeted by a lovely, friendly dog who sat waiting outside. Out the back of the shop and cafe is a smallholding with chickens, rabbits, sheep, donkeys, horses and gorgeous pigs charlie and George. We loved seeing the animals as an added bonus and talking to the friendly owner who couldn't have been more welcoming.

The food is sublime. The chocolate brownies and sausage rolls were some of the best id tasted. The lemon drizzle cake comes highly recommended by my family although it was demolished before i got chance to taste.
Overall a lovely place to visit and when we visit the area again we'll be back!
Visited June 2014


“A 'must' for North Devon visitors”

Reviewed 10 July 2014
Visited with my wife and were bowled over by the friendly hospitality of what has to be a working enterprise. Locally produced 'light bites' were excellent (of note, the substantial sausage rolls) and the cream teas brilliant. Came back to get some local produce to take home, beef and lamb and didn't regret it. Even visiting the animals made for a change. If we had a young family we'd go there evry time.
Visited July 2014


“Nice family venue”

Reviewed 1 July 2014
Visited with my grand-daughter and mother. We enjoyed a delicious cream tea and then went to see the animals - perfect for all concerned !
Visited June 2014


“Absolutely Delightful”

Reviewed 1 July 2014
This little location is an absolute gem and certainly worth a visit.
Myself and my wife visited recently and had some Devon cream teas which were really lovely, the scones were fresh and warm and all the staff were extremely polite and very helpful, nothing was any trouble and all very reasonably priced as well.
We also made some purchases in their lovely shop which has a fantastic range of fresh local produce.
And it you really have to keep in touch they also have a free Wi-Fi spot for customers to use.

I will go back again without hesitation the next time that I am in that geographical area.
Visited June 2014


“Shop full of home made goodies”

Reviewed 1 July 2014
Called in to purchase bread for a picnic
Lovely farm shop homemade pies and sausage rolls superb
Staff very helpful
All produce reasonably priced
If you are in the area well worth a visit
Visited June 2014


“An Excellent Find”

Reviewed 29 May 2014
We were staying at Woodford Bridge nearby and this farm shop and cafe was recommended to us.

We visited twice, first to buy food as we were self-catering and again to sample one of their traditional Devon cream teas which was fantastic!

Everything, if not from the farm itself, is locally sourced and of the highest quality. A place not to be missed!
Visited May 2014


“Shop full of treats”

Reviewed 7 May 2014
This farm shop was full of delicious treats for any visitor to take back home. Not overly priced. Lady was really helpful who served us, she packed our products carefully. Not shoving them any way into a bag. My husband, sons and friends enjoyed their treats, scones, clotted cream, jam washed down with the cider. Delicious :-)
Visited May 2014


“Lovely”

Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile
We live locally and often call in for tea and cake. Their Devon Apple cake is fab served warm with clotted cream. They also stock a fantastic range of frozen pies, puds and cakes to buy- all fantastic. I can vouch for the apple pie and my husband loves the sausage rolls. A warm welcome every time from the friendly staff too.
Visited April 2014


“Delightful place”

Reviewed 22 April 2014
This place is a breath of fresh air. Lovely homemade food, crafts, organised walks and very child friendly. Visited with my 6 year old and my parents .. We went on an organised walk (no charge for this) taken by Lizzy .. Met the animals and learned lots about them
And the area as we walked round .. My daughter was very taken with cupcake the pet lamb who followed lizzys daughter around the farm ! During the walk which lasted around 1 1/2 hours at a leisurely pace Lizzy gave all the children on the walk pony rides which my daughter loved and when we got back to the farm we stayed and had lunch.. All home made dishes .. Really lovely and reasonable price .. Lizzy also sells her home made dishes to take away ! The farm has lots of space for children to play and lots of animals to pet including rabbits, chickens, donkey, pony .. We all had a great time and look forward to coming back again soon :-


“Fantastic Farm shop and cafe”

Reviewed 22 April 2014
We recently visited with our two year old daughter. The animals at the farm were a big hit with her and the owners are so engaging and relaxed, allowing children to really enjoy the thrill of seeing all the farm animals. We stopped in for lunch and the food was just perfect and lovely space both inside and out. We also did a bit of shopping in the farm shop and the beef is truly amazing. We've had steaks from there as well as the rib roast which was so tender and delicious!
Visited April 2014


“Excellent farm shop and great fun for young children”

Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile
We had a lovely morning at Blackberry Farm, the mums enjoyed tea and cake in the cafe whilst the kids played with the baby lambs and other farm animals. We took some goodies home for the dad's, the pasties went down a treat and the cheese lovers chutney was apparently the best chutney ever! Thank you for a lovely time we will definitely be visiting again.
Visited April 2014


“don't drive past. you will miss a treat.”

Reviewed 28 December 2013
Mike's prize winning beef and Lizzie's prize winning food can be obtained from this family run farm shop which lies just off the A388 at Milton Damerel. Call in at the cafe and enjoy some fresh homemade food with your coffee and look out at the beautiful Devon countryside. Take a wander around the farm or join one of the guided walks around the village. The children will be delighted to feed the lambs & other animals. We particularly enjoyed the homemade pies & cakes and the sausage rolls are really delicious. There are novelties & gifts on sale as well. This place is well worth a visit.
Visited October 2013


“Good food to eat-in or take away”

Reviewed 10 September 2013
This wasn't our first visit, we have always enjoyed going there whenever we have stayed at Woodford Bridge Country Club. Take the farm trip, it isn't just for children! It is very informative and enjoyable, even when you have done it before. There is a pleasant section with donkey's and ponies that enjoy being fussed, as well as horses, poultry and two fat and lazy pigs. After this we were taken around farm building to see some of the cattle, fantastic prize-winning beasts. Finally we enjoyed a short walk through old Devon lanes, visited an old church and returned for lunch. The food is home-cooked and excellent, we had pastys - what else, also sausage rolls, cakes, scones and tea. And then some shopping to take away for later.

The fresh meat is really good, with a wide range of cuts available. They also sell frozen meals which are well worth trying, especially if you are self-catering. And then the cakes, scones and ice-cream. Is this Devon or heaven?
Visited September 2013


“tasty & good value for money”

Reviewed 9 September 2013
We didnt take a trip around the farm as this is for children I think. However we did call into the tea room for a proper cream tea. This was delicious ! We also bought some sausage rolls for our homeward journey and they were tasty too. Its all good wholesome, home cooked food and reasonably priced too.
Visited September 2013


“Great fun for kids.”

Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile
Lizzy was wonderful and spent a lot of time taking us around her farm, even starting the tour an hour earlier than we'd arranged to suit our needs. All the kids ranging from 1 to 11 enjoyed it (as did the adults).

I'd thouroughly recommend a visit, especially for the excellent food that is sold in the farm shop-best sauasage rolls I've ever had.
Visited August 2013


I just thought I would let you know how much we enjoyed your lamb pie and rabbit pie which we bought before returning home from Woodford Bridge last month. They were both really delicious and I wish we could buy some more....no chance of your expansion into North Wiltshire I suppose?!!!!!!

Keep up the good work,

Regards,
Chris Dunster.